Canon 5D Mark III astrophotography

The Bulge

“The Bulge”; Single exposure, ISO 5000, 24 mm, f/2.8, 20 sec

If anything shows off the low light capabilities of the 5D Mark III, it’s astrophotography. For me this doesn’t go any deeper than wide angle shots of the night sky, but luckily I got to try out the camera on some really dark nights at Siding Spring Observatory earlier this year. What strikes me about the 5DIII’s high ISO noise performance is how much colour and contrast detail you can retain. Bear in mind all these shots are at f/2.8.. if only I had a 1.4!

AAT Milky Way panorama

The Anglo-Australian Telescope dome and the Milky Way; stitched panorama of 7 frames; ISO 5000, f/2.8, 20 sec

SkyMapper and the Milky Way

The ANU SkyMapper telescope and the Milky Way; Single exposure, ISO 5000, 35 mm, f/2.8, 20 sec

Magellanic Clouds

The large and small Magellanic Clouds (nearby galaxies); ISO 5000, 32 mm, f/2.8, 20 sec

5 thoughts on “Canon 5D Mark III astrophotography

  1. Pingback: Stories from Siding Spring Observatory | The Lined Wolf

  2. I took some shots with my 5D Mark III With the settings you listed,500 iso 24mm 20 sec and got quite a bit of noise,can you give me any suggestions to help?

    • Hi Ken, your image will certainly have some noise, but I found it was manageable and low enough not to ruin the picture in ‘normal’ viewing.
      Are you shooting RAW? What do you do for post processing? Also I assume you meant ISO 5000, not 500?
      James

      • Yes,I am shooting in raw.I am using lightroom 4.yes I meant ISO 5000.I think I had more noise after editing,so I guess I did something wrong in LR 4. If I wanted to print a large picture how would I deal with getting rid of the noise?

Leave a Reply

